When creating a node (article, event, basic page, etc.) there are several options that appear at the bottom of the editing screen. These options are almost exactly the same for each item you create.

Editing options menu

 

Menu Settings

The first option on the list is 'Menu Settings.' This is very important if you want your content item to have a menu link attached to it. 

Menu settings provide a menu link box

If you click the 'Provide a menu link' box, you will receive another list asking for the title, description, parent item, and weight of your menu link.

  • The title will automatically be what you titled your node, but you can change this if you wish.
  • The description is shown when a user hovers over the menu link, and is intended to describe the link's content.
  • The 'parent item' tells you where your menu link can be found. It defaults to the main menu, but you can change this by selecting another location in the dropdown menu. 
  • The 'weight' of your item determines its position in the menu, or you can choose to rearrange menu links using the drag-and-drop method, which many users consider easier (see Changing the order of menu links

Creation of a menu link options

Revision Information

The 'Revision Information' section makes it easy to remember changes made to a node. The 'Create new revision' box is checked automatically. When you come back to edit a published node, you can leave a note in the 'Revision log message' box regarding what you changed or added. this will help other authors understand your motivations. Adding a revision log message is only relevant if there are others working on the site with you, or if you want to remind yourself why you made a change.

Revision information options

XML Sitemap

This section is a little more advanced, and many users choose not to change anything.

An XML sitemap provides information about your site to search engines, listing the URLs for your site by priority when search engines are combing through it.

SiteNow excludes the XML sitemap by default, but this can be changed. Under ‘Inclusion,’ switch from the ‘Default (excluded)’ to ‘Included.’ Once you’ve done that, another bar will pop up below asking for the priority of this specific URL as opposed to other URLS on your site. It will default at 0.5, where 1.0 is the highest and 0.0 is the lowest. You can adjust the priority as well. For example, if someone was using a search engine (like Google or Bing) to search for content related to your website, having a high priority (in the 0.7-1.0 range) would mean that this specific item would be listed near or at the top of the list, appearing before other items with lower priority on your site. This can be useful if you want to draw user attention to a specific item – all you need to do is set it at a higher priority level. However, many webmasters have no preference for the order in which various aspects of their site are listed, so they prefer to leave the XML sitemap excluded. When in doubt, it's a good idea to trust the default.

XML sitemap priority options

URL Path Settings

The 'URL path settings' section is helpful for editing the URL of your page. The button to 'Generate automatic URL alias' will already be checked. This means that the site will provide a specific URL for your item by itself. If you don't like this, you can always change the name of the URL by unchecking the 'Generate automatic URL alias' box and typing in your preferred URL alias in the textbox below. 

URL path settings option

Authoring Information

The 'Authoring Information' section provides extra details about the author of a specific page and the time they created or edited the page. 

The first box in this section is the 'Authored by' box. Your HawkID should automatically be shown here. You can, however, delete your HawkID and leave the box blank if you don't want your name listed. This will identify you simply as 'Anonymous.' 

In the second box, you can enter the date and time that the page was created. Formatting instructions for this are found right beneath the box.

Authoring information options

Publishing Options

The 'Publishing options' section is important for determining whether or not your page is published, and where your page shows up on your site.

By default, the 'Published' box will be checked. This means that as soon as you click 'Save' at the bottom, your page will be live on your site. By unchecking the box, the page will not be published, but it may still be found in 'Find content.'

The 'Promoted to Front Page' box will be unchecked by default. Checking this box ensures that your page will be shown on the front page of your site. 

Publishing options checkboxes
Article number: 
105169
Last updated: 
June 21, 2016
Service: 
Category: