SharePoint sites that are no longer needed should be deleted by the SharePoint site owner.

Although the site is no longer needed, there may be content that you wish to save.  It's best to backup any files to a network drive or hard disk location outside of SharePoint and then delete the contents of the site and then the site itself.

Article number: 
101282
Last updated: 
August 31, 2016
Service: