Both the Share and Copy Link commands now default to the same permissions and use the same link settings.
- Share uses the automatic email messaging inside of Office 365.
- Copy Link allows you to send your own email message.
Anyone with this link: This is anonymous sharing. Anyone can forward the link to another person. This option does not require recipients to sign-in. You do NOT have to have any Microsoft account to use this. You can uncheck the “Edit” if you only want recipients to view. When would I use this?
- Easiest way to share files and folders.
- Use for files and folders that are not considered sensitive.
- Use for files and folders that you easily want to share with others that are not sensitive.
People in the University of Iowa: This is only useful if you are sharing with other University of Iowa folks. When would I use this?
- Use for files and folders when sharing internally with other UI people.
- Use with Healthcare users if the document is sensitive.
Specific people: Grant permission only to the people you list. This link will now work for anyone. The user who receives the link will click on the link and receive a validation code. They must use the validation code to access the data. You cannot forward this link. When would I use this?
- Use for files and folders that are sensitive.
- Use if you do not want anyone to forward your link.
NOTE: If you have previously shared with someone who has a Microsoft Office 365 account or hotmail.com, live.com or outlook.com address, they will not receive a validation code because they are using a Microsoft account. If you want them to use a validation code moving forward, please contact the ITS Help Desk for assistance. All previous sharing links and "external account" in Office 365 will need to be removed before a validation code will work.