Owner Create, read, modify, and delete all items, and create subfolders. Can change the permission levels that other people have for the folder. 
Publishing Editor Create, read, modify, and delete all items and create subfolders. 
Editor Create, read, modify, and delete all items.
Publishing Author Create and read items, create subfolders, and modify and delete items and files that you create. (Does not apply to delegates.)
Author Create and read items, and modify and delete items and files that you create.
Non-Editing Author Create and read items s only.
Reviewer Read items only.
Contributor Create items only. The contents of the calendar do not display. 
Free/Busy Time, Subject, Location See free/busy time as well as the subject and location of items. Cannot Create Files and can only read this basic information, not the full files.
Free/Busy Time See free/busy time only.
None No permission. You cannot open the calendar.
Availability Only Shows the times of items on your calendar and no other details
Limited Details Shows the time, subject, and location
Full Details Shows the time, subject, location, and other details of all items 
Editor Can edit your calendar as well as view all details of calendar items
Delegate Can editor your calendar, view full details, and send and respond to meeting requests on your behalf

 

To set your calendar so it won't publish your free/busy information -  this option is not recommended if others need to schedule meetings with you.

NOTE: These steps do not prevent someone from tentatively inviting you to a meeting.

  1. Click on Calendar
  2. Choose Tools | Options | Calendar Options | Free/Busy Options.
  3. Click on the Other Free/Busy button
  4. Set 'Publish = 0 month(s) of Calendar free/busy information on the server'.
  5. Click OK.      

To set a resource calendar (e.g., conference room), the resource owner must first sign onto the resource and then follow the steps above.

Note: People given rights/permissions to your calendar can still see it but they cannot do a Free/Busy search against it. If there are already appointments on your calendar before these settings are changed, those appointments will still be searchable (i.e., entries added after the change will not be searchable).

Open Outlook 2013.

Select Calendar.

On the Home tab, select Calendar Permissions.

Select the Permissions tab if it is not already selected.

Select Add.  

Type the name of the person you wish to add (e.g, doe, jane).  Highlight the name that you want to add.

Click the Add button and the user's name will display underlined in the text box to the right.

Click OK.

Under Permissions you can set the appropriate permissions for the user (e.g., Reviewer, Author, etc.)

Click OK when you are finished selecting the permissions.

Open Outlook 2011.

Open the Calendar.

Press CTRL + click on the calendar.

Choose Sharing Permissions.

Click Add User.

Type the name of the user you wish to give permissions to (e.g., doe, jane) and click Find.

Select the user and click OK.

Under the "Permission Level", choose the appropriate permissions for the user and click OK.

  1. Log into office365.uiowa.edu
  2. Under "My Calendars", right click on the calendar that you wish to edit.
  3. Click Permissions
  4. To stop sharing the calendar with a person, find that person and choose Delete (or choose a new level of permission)
    To stop sharing your calendar publicly, change the Public calendar setting to Not shared
  5. Click Save
Article number: 
101424
Last updated: 
March 14, 2017