We encourage customers to use separate Azure subscriptions for different workloads and projects. As your needs change, or as projects come to a close, you may want to terminate your Azure subscription. This FAQ aims to guide you through our process for doing so.
The Cloud Team cannot cancel your subscription unless all resource groups and resources in the subscription are deleted. In some rare cases, you might get errors deleting resources or resource groups from your Azure subscription. If you encounter any problems doing this, please contact the Cloud Team and we will work with you to solve the problem.
We will cancel the subscription with Microsoft, and it will not appear when you log into the Azure Portal. This is a permanent action.
There shouldn't be a reason to reactivate a subscription. Because Azure will not allow us to terminate a non-empty subscription, there shouldn't be anything to recover. Further, the act of canceling a subscription is final and permanent. It is not possible to reactivate after termination. Should you require another subscription in Azure, you can request one here.