This page is intended to highlight general eligibility for IT services for University of Iowa faculty and staff who are leaving or have already left the university (though some departments may provide additional services or access). If you have questions about keeping certain ITS services, please reach out to your local HR admin for further guidance. 

Faculty/Staff -- your HawkID will remain active for at least 22 months to allow you to access various services including HRIS and allows you to download important tax documents and update your residing address, among other tasks you may need to do after leaving the UI.  Some services vary in length - if you have questions contact your HR representative.

ITS recommends that you continue to update your HawkID password when you are notified that it will expire. 

Resetting Your Own Password

If you know your current HawkID password, you can use the Change Password Tool here: https://apps.its.uiowa.edu/pwtool/change.

If you don't know your current HawkID password or if it has already expired, you can use the Reset Password Tool here: https://apps.its.uiowa.edu/pwtool/reset.

If neither of the above options work for you, you can also call the ITS Help Desk and an agent can reset your password over the phone. The Help Desk can be reached at 319-384-4357 during our business hours.

 

Mailboxes for faculty and staff remain open after termination for 17 days and then are closed. The mailbox will then be deleted 30 days after the mailbox is closed.

See My Office 365 Account Is Closing - What do I Do Checklist for information on updating your routing address, moving email, etc. 

Shared Departmental Office 365 and Resource Accounts

Before you leave the university, you should update the owner of any shared departmental or resource Office 365 email accounts you own.  You should also make sure to have your Hawkid removed from access to the accounts, even if you aren't the owner. 

Access to Office 365 Software closes immediately when your appointment with the university ends. 

On the day you depart from the University, you will lose access to your Home Drive/OneDrive. Before you leave, transfer any departmental files to others in your department and save any personal files you wish to keep. You will not have access after your last day.

RDSS and LSS access closes immediately when your appointment with the university ends.

Accounts are subject to removal within 30 days of a change of status and/or leaving the employ of the UI.

Important:

  • Accounts are removed without notification when one's eligibility expires.
  • Accounts not utilized within 30 days after being established are subject to removal without notice.
  • Periodically, ITS will audit accounts for activity. Accounts that are no longer in use, have had no file updates or other activity in the last 12 months are subject to removal without notice.
  • Any account found in non-compliance with the IT Resources Acceptable Use policy or the terms outlined in the MyWeb support center is subject to removal without notice.

Be sure to maintain a full and current backup of your site content. Once an account is deleted due to loss of eligibility, a copy of your site content cannot be restored or provided on any medium (CD, flash drive, etc.).

ICON - access closes two weeks after appointment ends

Zoom - access closes two weeks after appointment ends

ITC and Wireless Access -- ITC and UI Wireless Access closes immediately when your appointment with the university ends. 

Qualtrics- You will lose access to the Qualtrics web-based survey tool when you leave. If you own any surveys, you will want to transfer ownership to another person at the university if they will continue to be used. See more information about Qualtrics.

LinkedIn Learning -- access closes two weeks after your eligibility ends

VPN - access closes immediately when your appointment with the university ends

Hawk Alert - You will lose access to the Hawk Alert system when you leave. See more information about Hawk Alert.

Skype for Business- Your phone number will automatically deprovision when your appointment with the university ends. Skype for Business access will close immediately when your appointment with the university ends. If you own a Tel-xxx account, you will need to have the account owner changed to a current employee and have your access removed from the account.