When connecting to the eduroam network, you may see several other networks including attwifi. We own both of these networks but sometimes users may connect to the other networks accidentally. On many devices, once you connect to a network one time, the system will continue to try to connect to that network as a default. If you are having that issue, follow the directions below to remove connections to the network for your particular device.

Note: When you change your HawkID password, you may need to use these directions to update the password in your device for the eduroam network.

Jump to -- Windows 7 -- Windows 8 -- Mac -- iOS -- Android --


Windows 7 and earlier

  1. Open the Control Panel
  2. Open Network and Internet
  3. Open the Network and Sharing Center
  4. Select Manage wireless networks
  5. Select the desired network
  6. Click Remove


Windows 8

  1. Select the wireless icon in the bottom right corner
  2. Right click on the network name (for tablets, you may need to tap and hold on the network name)
  3. Select Forget this network

red circle around forget this network


Mac OS

  1. Click the wireless icon in the upper right corner
  2. Select Open Network Preferences
  3. Make sure Wi-Fi is selected on the left and select Advanced (On older versions of Mac OS, Wi-Fi may be listed as Airport instead).

red circle around Advanced... button

4. Under Preferred Networks, select the network you would like to remove.
5. Select the minus button below the box to remove the network
6. Click Okay and Apply to save the changes (Note: You may also need to turn the Wi-Fi off and back on again to see the change).


iOS (iPhone, iPad)

  1. Go to Settings
  2. Select Wi-Fi
  3. Select the blue i to the right of the network name (in older versions of iOS, this may show as a blue arrow)
  4. Select Forget this Network
  5. Confirm that you want to Forget the Wi-Fi network


Android

  1. Navigate to your wireless networks. (Note: The steps to do this may vary depending on your device)
  2. Tap and hold on the desired network.
  3. Select Forget this Network or Remove this Network (this may vary depending on your device)
Article number: 
102644
Last updated: 
May 19, 2016