Thursday, June 26, 2014 - 3:04pm

Maggie Jesse, senior director, ITS Office of Teaching, Learning, & Technology
The Technology in Business Schools Roundtable (TBSr) recently presented Maggie Jesse, senior director of the ITS Office of Teaching, Learning, & Technology, with the Wiebusch Award for outstanding contributions to the organization and operations of TBSr.

TBSr was formed in 2004 to provide opportunities for technology leaders in business schools to share ideas and best practices and to collaborate with their colleagues at other AACSB-accredited business schools. It promotes multiple methods for members to interact and engage one another—in person at TBSr, Educause, or AACSB annual meetings, or virtually during online sessions of special interest topics throughout the year. Further, TBSr membership offers collective access to other business school IT leaders who are focused on similar goals and manage related challenges.

Weibusch Award Plaque
The award is named in honor of Beth Wiebusch, who was instrumental in the early years of TBSr, developing the organizational processes and treasury functions necessary to maintain the organization’s viability. Jesse was an original founder of TBSr and is the official signature on its non-profit 501-3C status filing.

At the UI, Jesse and her staff are responsible for supporting and developing excellent teaching and learning strategies in services across campus. This includes faculty workshops and learning communities, excellent physical learning space environments, pedagogically sound technology solutions, and ongoing assessment of teaching outcomes. 

Jesse chairs the campus Academic Technology Advisory Council (ATAC) and leads the UI Learning Spaces Executive Committee (LSEC). She is one of three co-directors of the Iowa State Regents Academic Technologies Affinity Group and is chair emeritus of the CIC Learning Technologies Group. She is active in EDUCAUSE and the EDUCAUSE Learning Initiative (ELI).

Jesse received her MBA from Iowa in 2003 and regularly presents seminars and workshops across the country on community-based decision-making. In 2006, she was awarded the David J. Skorton Staff Excellence Award for Public Service from the UI.​​